Just You Blog #2: Episodes 3-12

justyou-90

So I said I would put up a review after I finished episode 10. Well… then I wanted to keep watching so I finished episode 12. It was actually a better place to stop; there is much more to talk about.

I’m  covering 10 episodes today so I will give as brief of an overview as possible. Basically:

Laing Laing and Qi Yi are still living together. They have come to an agreement–a.k.a. Laing Laing is putting up with all of Qi Yi’s crap trying to get him to like her. Laing Laing, Kate, and Princess have come up with a way for revenge on destroying Kate’s engagement:  The Lion Hunting Mission-Make Qi Yi Fall For Laing Laing. What Laing Laing didn’t expect was that she might actually start falling for him. And that is where we are at in Episode 12. Laing Laing has fallen for Qi Yi.

justyou-50That really is all there is to episodes 3-12 when it boils down. Now, yes, more has happened. We have the new character of Dean introduced. He is a college frienemy of Qi Yi. He has fallen for Laing Laing; love at first sight. This adds to the jealousy fact for Qi Yi which is, of course, denied. This is an interesting character because he is both for and against the couple. He is definitely out for Laing Laing’s affections but isn’t naive enough to not notice that Laing Laing is head over heals for Qi Yi. He only wants Laing Laing to be happy, so he helps her in anyway he can–even if that brings her closer to Qi Yi.

4301_16Then there is the character of the ex-fiance, Jai Yu. She is a piece of work. She shows up in Qi Yi’s life after disappearing for three years. In fact, she disappeared the day after he proposed to her. It is unclear what all happened. What is clear is Jai Yu expects nothing to have changed. Qi Yi should still love her like she never left. Well, he doesn’t. He is kind of bitter actually. Now she is after Laing Laing to separate her from Qi Yi.

This drama is very cookie cutter. You can tell what is going to happen next. I’ve gotten to the point where I can count down from five the exact moment when a character is going to say something. Yet, I keep watching. I think I can break down to one element:

The chemistry between Qi Yi and Laing Laing.

tumblr_mxkeciWtfS1qiqduwo1_500

They play off each other so well. And when it is hot, it’s hot. Honestly, seeing them on screen together keeps me around even though I’m screaming inside about the unnecessarily long stares and stereotypical lines. It just goes to show what good acting can do for a drama.

What I like the most about this drama is the way it depicts love. The main characters don’t fall for each other at first sight. It isn’t until after they make each other tolerate the other. It is through the acts of love that they perform for each other that they realize their deeper feelings.